Day One.


Pretty yellow flower

People seem to go through life with a set template and very few momentous experiences in between to speak of.

  • School
  • Work
  • Get married
  • Have kids
  • Retire

I have to say that I love templates.  I love structure.  I make a lot of lists.  Handwritten lists, list applications on every device I own.  I categorize and organize and I do not like things to differentiate from how I think they’re suppose to be.  Thus, I graduated from high school.  I graduated from a university.  I got a job.  Then I got a better job as an entry level quality lab technician at a huge liquor company (they had operations on every continent except Antarctica).  After two years, I got offered a management position at a major US dairy company.  I did this in 3 years.  Some people remain a lab tech for years before moving up.  I was on track to a career in quality management at food manufacturing plants.  My inner monologue went something like this:

Do you want to do this for the rest of your life?  I contemplated this for a very long time.
Not really, but I could do it.
Would you do it if I had a choice?
Hell no.  
What are you going to do instead, considering your compulsive, irrational need to shop and to um, live…?  Hmm… I don’t know. 
Normally, deviations piss me off.  They throw everything out of whack.  But I quit my job and moved to a different country.  Yes, I chose to deviate from the aforementioned template.  Why?  To escape monotony.  To have life experiences that don’t consist of the same thing for the 30 years until I retire.  How do people do that?  I’m not even consistent with my food choices.  I had a hard time trying to imagine me doing the same things for 30 years.  I guess I will have to figure it out as I go.

 

Fast forward to right now, I’ve had an exhausting day.  I woke up late, cooked spaghetti for lunch.  Ran to the beach.  Walked back home (IT’S ALL UPHILL, UGH!).  Did some laundry.  Walked back to the beach, swam, read the Clash of Kings, walked home.  B made me attend an anatomy review with him…… my eyes glazed over.  This was not the anatomy of my undergrad days.  This was like, intense roided-out anatomy of things you didn’t even know was really a significant anatomical structure.

 

 Tomorrow, I’m going to figure out how to get around with a car!  Because I really want a gelato.

Euphorbia milli or the crown-of-thorns plant. Lao ladies are obsessed with these succulents because it is said to bring good luck or a lot of money

the golf course on the way to the beach

view which I will never tire of

this is a 7 minute run

One thought on “Day One.

Leave a Reply

