Valentine’s Day


20130214-133403.jpg

Photo Feb 14, 1 27 21 PM

FYI:  I FORGOT TO PUBLISH THIS ON VALENTINE’S DAY.

I have always wanted to bake bread.  The process has always seemed daunting to me.  It is almost like a part-time job to make up the yeast, let it bubble up, let the dough rise.  Blah Blah Blah.  My eyes glaze over.  That is not the life for me.  But today, I felt it.  I woke up at 7:20 am—6:20 eastern and 5:20 central time!  I made The Boyfriend a breakfast consisting of an onion/bell pepper omelette, turkey bacon, toast and jam and fresh coffee!  Then, I sent him off to school with Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookies and Salted Caramel Brownies to share with his friends!

So at this point, it was like, 7:50 am and I had yet to drink any coffee.  I figured I would just go back to sleep.  No.  I watched two episodes of Girls and then The Boyfriend came home from class.  He brought back flowers and candy AND MY FAVORITE….Diet Dr. Pepper….which is $7/12-pack here.  Outrageous, right?  Riight.  I was pretty giddy about it.  Anyhow, I decided, as a labor of love, to attempt bread-making.  I had decided on Focaccia.  I wanted to make Spago Las Vegas-esque Focaccia (yeah, riiight).

This is what I came up with:

Mine came out a little pale, but I plan on reheating it for dinner later.  Hopefully, I can acquire the expectant golden hue.

Focaccia
(adapted from Becca Bakes )

1 package dry yeast
1 cup warm water
1 tsp honey
2.5 cups AP Flour
1 tsp sea salt, plus some
lots of olive oil
¼ large yellow onion, sliced medium thick
¼ large red onion, sliced medium thick
2 small shallots, sliced thin
3 cloves garlic, sliced thin
1-2 tsp dried rosemary
6 cherry tomatoes, halved

Mix together first three ingredients in a medium bowl, let it sit for about 10 minutes.  It should be foamy at the top.

Stir in flour, 1 tsp fine sea salt and ¼ cup of olive oil.

Remove mixture from bowl onto a floured surface.  Flour the dough and knead until smooth.  Place in another oiled medium bowl in a warm area for 1 hour.

Meanwhile, cook onions in olive oil over medium-low to medium heat.  After the onions turns translucent, add the shallots and garlic.  Continue to cook over medium-low/medium heat.  Do not burn or over-caramelize them—they will cook more in the oven.

They should look like this:

Photo Feb 14, 1 25 37 PM

After 1 hour, the dough should have doubled.  Preheat oven to 450.

Place the dough in an oiled 9×13 baking pan and spread out to cover the pan—do not overwork.  I used a pyrex casserole dish, because that is all I have!  Anyway, poke holes with your fingers and drizzle some olive oil over the dough.  The original recipe says to wait about 20 minutes.  I waited about 30.

Spread the onion mixture over the bread.  FYI:  I mixed my rosemary in with the onion mixture.  Plop some cherry tomatoes around in the mixture.  FYI:  I squeezed the seeds out from the tomatoes.  Those are disgusting and I don’t want anything to do with them.  Sprinkle the top with course sea salt.  I had to add more after mine baked.

Bake 15 minutes for a normal baking pan or 20-25 for casserole dish!

Cool completely. Serve. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

