Boston Eats


 

I’m. SO. Hungry.

boston eatsSo, let us recap what I ate in Boston: clam chowder, Banh Mi, and lobster rolls. That is all…pretty much. There was beer and wine also! It was all “wicked” good!

IMG_5704
The first thing I ate in Boston was clam chowder at Jacob Wirth, in the Chinatown area. The chowder had a great flavor, the clams were nice and big, but there were too many potatoes for my taste and it was too thick. Supposedly, there is a huge difference in cup to bowl size with only a $1 difference in price! Get the bowl! Also, on Tuesdays (not sure if there was a time range) there were 25-cent hot dogs!

banhmi

Word on the streets (internet) was that Boston boasted some of the best banh mi’s EVER. I did some Googlin’ and found Banh Mi House. It took me about 15 minutes of wandering around Winter Street to finally find it…Situated in an enclosed sort of alley way, next to a sketchy looking electronics repair…hole? Even so, it was far from disappointing. A place I’d refer to as “dank,” except it totally doesn’t mean that, per Urban Dictionary.  Anyhow, my parents, who are super critical of Asian food, even liked it. “It is better than Fort Smith, but not as good as Laos.” Like, duh. We had the classic (because I love paté) and the grilled beef. Mmm. I can’t stop thinking about it. I ate here twice during my short stay!
Pros: The mayonnaise was authentic and there were no pickled daikon radishes (ew) and they give you free water as a “new” customer. I got free water twice ;). Also, they add green onions and Maggi sauce, which gives the sandwich a greater depth of flavor and elicits much more mouth watering. It’s located across the street from Boston Commons, where you can take your sandwich and free water and people watch!
Cons: They were out of pork meatball every time I went.  Though from the photos/description on their site, I’m glad I was so fortunate as to miss out.

2stuffed clams

5friedclams

My parents, for whatever reason (the rain, the cold, the walking, maybe?), did NOT want to leave the apartment. Not even for food. They only wanted Chinese/Asian food and wanted me to take the train all the way to Chinatown, from Back Bay, to retrieve food. Um, no. Then, they wanted to order pizza, which was unacceptable to me. Luckily, my friend Karen suggested Thai Basil on Newbury Street, who thankfully delivered. Again, my hypercritical parents loved it. My dad was feigning for some duck, which they happened to offer in a variety of dishes. He ordered the Siam Duck—duck breast in tamarind sauce with broccoli and carrots. Mmm. He said it hit the spot. I ordered a duck dish also, the Duck Choo Chee, which was essentially Duck phat phet or curry stir-fry. ‘Twas also really delicious. The duck in both meals was really tender and plentiful. My mom ordered Seafood Basil Lo Mein. Mmm. That was really yummy and aromatic. They didn’t skimp on the seafood either! B ordered the Seafood Madness, which I liked. It reminded me of my mom’s cooking. Again, the seafood was plentiful and cooked really well. I really liked Thai Basil due to their originality. They had quite a few dishes that you wouldn’t normally find on any standard Thai menu, yet they still maintained their authenticity. A+. P.S., no pictures, too busy inhaling my food.

3lobsterroll
4crabsand

After my graduation, my parents ordered in, AGAIN. B and I trekked to Yankee Lobster, Co. in Southie, because it was vital for me to have a lobster roll. And it was soooo good. I let him finish my lobster roll so I could order some fried whole bellied clams. They say you should always order whole bellied clams. “More flavor!” It DID have more flavor, albeit an interesting one. B also had the soft-shelled crab sandwich and we both had stuffed clams and clam chowder.  It was my favorite clam chowder (sorry no photo)!  Sufficient amount of potatoes, lots of clams, and the broth was not overly thick..or thick at all, which I prefer.  Everything was so fresh, considering their fish market is in operation out back. I especially noticed a huge difference in the soft-shelled crab. It was more like…crab, instead of like the crunchy fried cardboard served in sushi back home. I wish this was closer to our apartment so I could’ve tried more of the menu, but it was exhausting getting there and trying to figure out how to leave. #n00b

Image

On Saturday, our friend, Andy, B and I toured the Samuel Adams Brewery in Jamaica Plain. Our tour guide was hilarious and I actually learned a lot about the processes involved. Also, free beer. Of the beer we tasted, my favorite was the Black Lager.  Our tour guide was a hoot!  His name was Kyle and I would highly recommend going on his tour!

Image

After the tour, we took a trolley to Doyle’s Cafe, driven by an eccentric gentleman who played weird Irish, heavy metal music? And was also a Doyle’s enthusiast. Apparently, several major films have been filmed at Doyle’s (21, the Departed, etc). Aside from that, Doyle’s was the first place to sell Samuel Adams beer, so with your tour ticket you can go to Doyle’s, get a Sam Adams and have a free glass. So we did. And we ate more lobster rolls. The interior was old and interesting and unchanged. Great atmosphere. We had a lot of fun here.

6secondlobsterroll

 

One day for lunch, B and I ate at Lir on Boylston Street.  Not sure why I didn’t take any photos of our food here, but it was pretty good.  The atmosphere was nice, very Irish mob, which insatiated B’s obsession with all mafias.  We shared their clam chowder (my second favorite) and it was excellent.  I’m starting to think there is no such thing as bad clam chowder in Boston.  I believe Brando had the steak tip sandwich, paired with a Guinness, and I had a cheeseburger with caramelized onions, paired with local Sea Dog Wild Blueberry beer.  Blueberry beer was pretty prevalent here and I was very OKAY with this.

Image

 

Cheers!  I really fell in love with Boston and am hoping to go back many, many times and very, very soon!  So many things I didn’t get a chance to see!

One thought on “Boston Eats

  1. Pingback: Odds & Ends – Boston edition | alwayshungry&bored

Leave a Reply

