Arkansas Pecan Milk

arkansaspecanmilk

For me, pecans are synonymous with the fall season, pumpkin, cinnamon-ey things, and the color orange.  Pecans trees are as good as gold, considering how much they cost at the grocery store!  Last year, The Boyfriend’s parents harvested a couple hundred pounds easy.  Shelled pecans, candied pecans, desserts with pecans in them.  GREAT gifts, not so great for my diet.

photo

Since we have so many pecans, and nut milks are so on trend right now, I thought I’d try my hand at making pecan milk.  Some folks were hesitant, as they are, but once they tried it, they were on board!  I was pleasantly surprised, as well.  And, as I have been neglecting my Recipes section, here is a nice fall recipe for you!  Suggestions:  heating up the pecan milk with cinnamon for a nice fall drink or adding to coffee!  You may also try to whip up a batch of Chocolate Chip & Cookie Butter cookies.  Amaze.  Not sure how long it keeps, but surely longer than any animal milks.

Arkansas Pecan Milk

1 cup pecans from any State
water
2-3 dates
1-2 tbsp local honey
4 cups filtered water

In a medium bowl, add pecans and cover with water by 2 inches.  Soak overnight.

Drain pecans.

In another bowl (I used a rather deep one), add pecans, dates (I used 3), and honey (I used 1 tbsp).  To this, add 4 cups of hot filtered water.

I used an immersion blender to blend for 2-3 minutes on high.

I set a cheese cloth over a colander over a bowl and poured my mixture over it.  I used a spoon to move the mixture around and to push the liquid through.

After it stopped yielding liquid, I took the pecan meal and let it dry out.  You may want to taste the milk and add more honey, if necessary.  I poured the liquid in a larger mason jar and allowed it to get to room temperature before refrigerating.  For the pecan meal, after it was completely dry (took about an entire day) I threw it into the Magic Bullet to make it more like flour.  Then I put it in a freezer bag and in the freezer for later!

Leave a Reply

